Confirmations Pile in for the $1 Million Big One for One Drop

November 17, 2023
Mark Patrickson

The Big One for One Drop is only a month away and already we have a ton of confirmations from elite players.

The $1 million buy-in event now holds legendary status, having paid out some of the biggest prizes in poker history.

Antonio Esfandiari’s $18,346,673 prize for winning the 48-man inaugural event in 2012 remains one of the biggest poker tournament prizes ever.

Who’s in?

Phil Ivey was the first big hitter to announce his intentions to play on December 18 when the action kicks off.

After five years of not being held, the high stakes crew can’t wait to get started.

Alexandre Meunier, One Drop Foundation’s Chief Marketing and Events Officer, said:

“After a five-year hiatus it seems the grounds have never been more fertile for the Big One, it is clear it has been missed.

“Past players from the worlds of business and high stakes poker are showing strong interest as well as players who have never played a Big One before which is very encouraging.

“We would go as far to say that we haven’t seen such strong interest at this stage since the early editions of the history-making event.”

Phil Ivey has acted as a brand ambassador for the last year with the World Poker Tour, who are hosting the event, so it’s only natural that he should be first.

Only a couple of weeks later, six more faces declared their intentions, including Dan “Jungleman” Cates, Chris Brewer, and Nick Petrangelo.

WPT CEO Adam Pliska said in a press release:

Our partnership with the One Drop Foundation has already seen some big names turn up in the Alpha8 fields. As the Big One draws near, we are elated with every new entry, building excitement and securing further support for the One Drop Foundation’s global cause.”

And in the last couple of days, Jason Koon and Mikita Badziakouski have thrown their hats into the ring.

Badziakouski told

“I’m always looking to compete at the highest level and playing in the million-dollar buy-in Big One for One Drop is another great opportunity to do just that. It also feels good to know that a piece of the buy-in goes a long way in supporting a very worthy cause in One Drop.”

Koon is fresh off of winning a record tenth Triton Super High Roller Series title and will be champing at the bit to take on his rivals.

Phil Ivey
Chris Brewer
Dan “Jungleman” Cates
Nick Petrangelo
Talal Shakerchi
Rick Salomon
David Einhorn
Artur Martirosian
Orpen Kisacikoglu
Santhosh Suvarna
Aleksejs Ponakovs
Mikita Badziakouski
Jason Koon

$2000 Bonus
30% Rakeback
$2000 Deposit Bonus